Nemo 2013

I feel a little bit silly referring to a huge blizzard as Nemo, but only because I can’t get the image of that little clown fish out of my mind.  The last 36 hours or so have been interesting, to say the least.  Tonight, while I downloaded all my photos, I took a little time for some Bailey’s coffee to warm up a bit!

Today, I really needed a Bailey's Coffee!

Today, I really needed a Bailey’s Coffee!

The storm started on Friday afternoon (here, in Massachusetts).  Our yard looked something like this –

Back Yard

Back Yard

Front Yard

Front Yard

After several hours (around 8 p.m.), I went out and shoveled.  Wendy saw me putting on my warm clothes (which are the same as my winter running clothes), and got very excited – she thought she was headed out for an adventure!  I don’t think she really knew what was in store!  I think she lasted about 30 seconds.

Wendy is NOT impressed

Wendy is NOT impressed

We thought Jeb would have to work all night (since he works in law enforcement and is essential staff), but they sent him home at the end of his shift.  After some treacherous driving, this is what he found when he arrived home.

So much for all that shoveling...

So much for all that shoveling…

Despite the hours I spent shoveling (only about 3 hours prior to this photo), everything was still pretty much covered.  Plus, the plows pushed another huge pile of snow at the end of our driveway, so Jeb had to shovel his way home.  It took TWO hours.

We finally went to bed around 3 a.m., thinking we had been through the worst of the storm.  We were wrong.  I don’t think I was really prepared for what we found this morning.

we couldn't even get out the front door!

we couldn’t even get out the front door!

Front yard - did I mention that we both drive Mini Coopers?

Front yard – did I mention that we both drive Mini Coopers?

Cold dogs.  Wendy is sticking out her tongue!  Duke isn't really sure what to make of things (he's behind Wendy)

Cold dogs. Wendy is sticking out her tongue! Duke isn’t really sure what to make of things (he’s behind Wendy)

Back door onto our deck.  The drifts were over 4 feet high!

Back door onto our deck. The drifts were over 4 feet high!

DSC_4361

Back Yard

Yikes.  So, we spent quite awhile clearing out the snow so Jeb could go to work.  My dad came by later in the afternoon so he could help us snowblow the worst parts (thank goodness).  Little did we know how lucky we were, however.  About 15 minutes before he arrived, I heard water splashing.  A pipe burst on our 2nd floor, and water was leaking through the ceiling.  Ugh.  We had a big mess, but my dad was able to help me solve the problem fairly quickly.  Phew.

The pipe thing is what led me to the Baileys – a few years ago, pipes froze in our house while we were both at work and more than half of our house was destroyed.  We had to gut several rooms, and it took us years to completely renovate (even now, we have some water damage on our hardwood floors but insurance didn’t cover those repairs).  I think I had some flashbacks to coming home and finding my house flooded.  The worst part was that we would have had a repeat incident if I hadn’t been home.

All in all, we were lucky.  We got a LOT of snow, but didn’t lose power.  We still have some snow to clear out (we haven’t even touched the deck yet), but we definitely made out better than many people in the area.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Nemo 2013

    • haha – thanks. It’s above freezing today, and some of the mess is already melting! Aside from the giant piles of snow, we lucked out -one of my friends lives closer to the coast and lost power early in the storm. I just talked to her, and they don’t think power will be restored for 5 more days!

Leave a Reply

