Must.Stop.Grazing

Seriously.  I have been eating healthy meals (mostly), and have been super-consistent with my workouts.  I was starting to get really frustrated that I haven’t been dropping weight like crazy.  The rationalizations were out of control – building muscle (in a deficit??), retaining water, etc.

Then, I took a hard look at my diet.  I realized that I have been grazing… and not just a little bit.  I’m talking antelope-in-the-grasslands levels of grazing (i.e. ALL day long).  I’ve had a lot of homework and, oftentimes, only take breaks to refill my water glass.  What I realized, though, was that I have developed a tendency to also grab a handful of some kind of food while in the kitchen.

This is not good.  It is time to re-frame my actions and focus.  I try really hard not to get overly crazy and obsessive about food.  For me, it creates a pretty nasty cycle of binge eating and negative self-talk anytime I start become very restrictive.  I find moderation is very important for me, even more when I am busy or stressed.  However, having a more moderate approach to food can also slip into complete diet complacency…which leads to NO weight loss.

So, for now, back to basics.  If I eat something, I will first measure out a portion and track the food.  I will have to be more mindful.  But, I can do this.  I’ve done it before.  I just have to get back on track.  After all, I have a goal race coming up!

Leave a Reply

