No excuses

No excuses.  Just go.

src: Fitness Magazine

My oh my!  I was not feeling up to working out today.  Here is a sampling of all the excuses that came to mind as I procrastinated got ready for my run:

  1. Jeb got home from work really late (like 8 hours late – so at 8 a.m.), and I tried to wait up for him.  I was exhausted.
  2. I’m getting some sort of head cold.
  3. I’ve been in a crazy homework loop for the last two days, which has pretty much sucked away my motivation for everything.
  4. I should probably clean the house or run errands or something…
  5. I was feeling kind of stiff.

But, I decided to go for it anyway.  Here’s why:

  1. I have a race coming up, and with my injury setback, I don’t have a lot of time to mess around.
  2. A crappy run is better than no run, and getting my heart rate up could only help with my motivation and mood.
  3. I was actually supposed to do today’s run yesterday, but I decided to switch around my schedule because it was an unholy level of coldness here yesterday.
  4. Wendy looked at me with her big, brown eyes and I knew she could use a workout too.
  5. Housework and other chores can wait.

And, I am glad I went!  I did a 3.3 mile loop, and had a nice long stretch when I got home.  I’ve spent the rest of the day moving through my routines, but with a bit of satisfaction.  Plus, I’m moving a bit better.

Tonight, I’m going to attempt to make Chicken Wellington for dinner, with this Creamed Spinach on the side.  I haven’t been able to find a good recipe for the wellington, so I’m just going to wing it.  The creamed spinach, though, is SO good.  It tastes kind of like spinach dip (maybe because I use extra garlic?).

In other news, WHY are these jello worm things still all over Pinterest?  I see this picture every.single.day.

Leave a Reply

